On November 16, 2023 the fourth Walter H. “Doc” Phillips Award was presented to Gayle Hays at a ceremony at the Harpswell Town Offices.  This award from the Brunswick Rotary club was named in honor of our former 40+ year Rotarian, Doc Phillips, as an annual award to be given to a member of our community reflecting Doc’s devotion to our Town of Harpswell, conservation, education, community involvement, and volunteerism.  
     Gayle was recognized for her involvement in Harpswell Aging at Home where she is the Chair of the Health and Wellness Committee, a Neighbor Connecting Program, Meals in a Pinch, and her bonus contribution of flowers and notes to foods being delivered.  She is a dedicated inoculator and was instrumental in initiating a daily women’s walking group during the recent pandemic.  Her contributions are far and wide.
     “It’s hard to understand how someone who is so low key can have an impact on so many.  Her initiative, enthusiasm, and interest in others shape everything she does, and in doing so, she shapes a better community here in Harpswell (from the presentation ).”  
      We were blessed with the presence of Doc Phillips lovely widow, Joan Phillips, who now lives in Brunswick.  In attendance from the Brunswick Rotary Club was Steve Baldwin, our amazing Secretary.  In the audience were many members of the Harpswell Aging at Home community from the Home Repair Team, the meals in a Pinch Team, the Steering Committee, as well as two of the Town Select Board members.  Grateful thanks to Carlene Byron who edited the write up portion of the presentation. The ceremony was recorded, and a video will soon be available.
    Shown in the photos:
1.  In the lobby of the Harpswell Town Offices showing the perpetual plaque.  L-R Dave Taft (member of the Brunswick Rotary Club), Gayle Hays, her son, and her husband Jim Hays
2.  In the lobby of the Harpswell Town Office:  L-R  Joan Phillips (the widow of Doc Phillips), Dave Taft, Gayle Hays, and Dee Perry (Chair of the Pride in Heritage Committee which is responsible for making the award)
3.  Presentation of the recipient’s award in the offices of the Select Board:  L-R  Gayle Hays, Dave Taft, Dee Perry